The NTA is governed by an elected board made up of volunteers, based in Canberra. Beneath this body operate the Finance Committee, Operations Committee, and Membership and Marketing Committee. These committees develop policies and undertake functions under the direction of the board.

Chair of the Board: Ron Thompson

Ron is the former Group General Manager of Australian public listed company Electro Optic Systems Pty Limited and a Senior International Banker with the Commonwealth Bank of Australia. Ron is the principal of Ron S Thompson and Associates Pty Limited. He was elected to the Board at the 2011 AGM.

President and Chief Executive Officer: Dr Colin Barlow MBE

Colin is an academic specialising in the problems of small small-scale rubber and oil-palm producers in Malaysia, the Philippines, Sri Lanka, and Indonesia. He is a Visiting Fellow at the Department of Political and Social Change at the Australian National University. Colin first visited Nusa Tenggara Timur in 1988, where he and other colleagues were taken aback by the poverty-stricken conditions. In 1992, Colin and Shirley Bowman founded the NTA. Colin has been a member of the Board since its inception in 2007.

Other Board members:

Ashlee Betteridge

Ashlee is an experienced writer, communicator and policy researcher. Her work has focused on international aid and development policy and the Asia-Pacific region. She is currently a research officer with the Australian National University's Development Policy Centre.

Professor Rob Cramb

Stephen Barry

Stephen has many years’ experience in Indigenous economic development, corporate governance and risk management. Stephen holds a Bachelor of Arts (Policy Studies) from the Australian National University and has postgraduate accounting and management qualifications. He is a graduate member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and of CPA Australia. 

Kim Andren (Secretary)

Kim is an officer of the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet. Kim was elected as Secretary to the Board at the 2012 AGM. Kim has a Masters degree from the ANU in Applied Anthropology and Participatory Development.

Dr Ria Gondorwarsito 

Ria is a sociologist who specialises in rural community development, especially in Indonesia. Ria is a former development consultant to the World Bank. She has been a member of the Board since its formation in 2007.

Executive Officer: Phil Domaschenz

Phil holds a degree focused on natural resource management. He was employed for 30 years within Government at local and national levels and worked in areas focused on the management of urban landscapes, forests, national parks and fisheries. His employment has covered Indonesian natural resource issues for 15 years and he was seconded to Indonesia for a year as Programme Management Specialist for a national coral reef management programme.